COVER STORY



House of the People (Lok Sabha)

- 1. Maulana Mohammad Saeed Masoodi
- 2. Major Lachhman Singh Charak
- 3. Sofi Mohammad Akbar
- 4. Pandit Shiv Narain Fotedar
- 5. Choudhary Mohammad Shafi
- 6. Khawaja Ghulam Qadir

Council of States (Rajya Sabha)

- 1. Sardar Budh Singh
- 2. Col. Pir Mohammad Khan
- 3. Rai Bahadur Pandit Anant Ram
- 4. Aga Syed Mohammad Shah Jalali

By the second Lok Sabha the regime in Jammu and Kashmir had changed following dismissal of Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah and installation of Bakshi Ghulam Mohammad as successor Prime Minister since August 1953. Therefore, no member from the first Lok Sabha was offered a second term as Bakshi chose his own loyalists including his brother Bakshi Abdul Rashid who was repeated for the third Lok Sabha as well.

Second Lok Sabha

- 1. Ali Mohammad Tariq
- 2. Bakshi Abdul Rashid
- 3.Sheikh Mohammad Akbar
- 4. Lala Thakur Dass / Inder Jeet Malhotra
- 5.Krishna Mehta
- 6.Maulana Abdur Rehman

Lala Thakur Dass Malhotra, an influential landlord from Kathua who was with National Conference since 1940s was one of those sent to the second Lok Sabha. Lala died in harness in 1958 and he was succeeded by his son Inder Jeet Malhotra to complete rest of the term till 1962 and subsequently he got three more terms in the Lok Sabha. Among other nominees was, Sheikh Mohammad Akbar, a close confidant of Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah who was also briefly jailed with him in 1953. Krishna Mehta, another nominee, was a direct descendant of Mehta Basti Ram, the first Governor of Ladakh appointed by General Zorawar Singh in 1830s. Krishna was wife of Mehta Duni Chand, the Commissioner of Muzaffarabad at the time of the fall of territory to Pakistan.

Third Lok Sabha

- 1. Bakshi Abdul Rashid
- 2. Abdul Ghani Goni
- 3. Inder Jeet Malhotra
- 4. Gopal Dutt Mengi
- 5. Syed Nazir Hussain Samnani
- 6. Sham Lal Saraf

Since the reorganisation of the state of Jammu and Kashmir in 2019, the successor Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir is left with only five Lok Sabha seats -Baramulla, Srinagar, Anantnag, Udhampur and Jammu. The sixth Lok Sabha seat -Ladakh is allocated to the Union Territory of Ladakh. Therefore, for the purpose of this story, which focuses only on Jammu and Kashmir, we are archiving records of only five seats since the first direct election of 1967.

Fourth Lok Sabha, 1967

1. Baramulla: Syed Ahmed Agha, Congress 2. Srinagar: Bakshi Ghulam Mohammad, National Conference

3. Anantnag: Mohammad Shafi Qureshi, Congress

4. Udhampur: Brig Ghansara Singh / Dr Karan Singh, Congress

5. Jammu: Inder Jeet Malhotra, Congress

Fifth Lok Sabha, 1971

1. Baramulla: Syed Ahmed Agha, Congress 2. Srinagar: Shameem Ahmed Shameem, Independent

3. Anantnag: Mohammad Shafi Qureshi, Congress

4. Udhampur: Dr Karan Singh, Congress 5. Jammu: Inder Jeet Malhotra, Congress

Sixth Lok Sabha, 1977

1. Baramulla: Abdul Ahad Vakil, National Conference

2. Srinagar: Begum Akbar Jahan, National Conference

3. Anantnag: Mohammad Shafi Qureshi, Congress

4. Udhampur: Dr Karan Singh, Congress

5. Jammu: Thakur Baldev Singh, Independent

Seventh Lok Sabha, 1980

1. Baramulla: Khwaja Mubarak Shah, National Conference

2. Srinagar: Dr Farooq Abdullah, National Conference

3. Anantnag: Ghulam Nabi Kochak, National Conference

4. Udhampur: Dr Karan Singh, Congress

5. Jammu: Girdhari Lal Dogra, Congress

Eighth Lok Sabha, 1984